tastes of tanqueray

a gin and tonic

her voice laced with cigarettes

and a twist of lime

 

watching him approach

under lowered eyelashes,

secretively smiles

 

eating the olive

she twirls the martini glass,

laughs coquettishly

 

conversation flows

neglected ice melts slowly

ten left on the bar

 

a cold ten blocks home

warm laughter in the stairwell

still tasting of lime

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coconutspeak
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 04:23:14

    Wow, takes me back to my young hottie days! Take a gander please:
    http://medicatedwordzallowed.wordpress.com/
    http://coconutspeak.wordpress.com/ – first 19 post of this one is about my life.

    Reply

  2. bounce51
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 04:30:23

    Coquettishly , I love that word , Nice write !

    Reply

  3. warmginger
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 04:33:04

    Whimsy-mimsy, this has my mouth watering. I’m going to make my husband take me out to a bar (which is a bit of a mission here in Qatar) and spend a ridiculous amount on a gin and tonic! Big smiles. x

    Reply

    • Whimsy Mimsy
      Oct 24, 2012 @ 21:02:28

      OH my – I didn’t realize you were in Quatar. Wow…Good luck with that then. I don’t drink much, but I’m a sucker for a good beer or a tanqueray and tonic anytime.

      Reply

  4. Mark Mendonck
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 06:56:51

    I can see it like in a good movie!
    Great!
    Do you have dutsh roots ( the Vermeer icon, girl with pearl)?

    Reply

So talk to me, baby ...